Stephens Graduation

On May 4, I went to report on Stephens College undergraduate graduation. This is a prime example of having a plan, and getting more than expected.

The week prior I had organized an outline. I had got in contact with a girl who I was going to add in my story as the opening. I had interviewed her, and planned to have her picture appear in the story.

When I got to the graduation, I had no idea the Missouri Theatre could get that full. I was able to sit with a nice family from Rhode Island, who I talked to about their graduate and their travels to Columbia.

While watching this graduation, it occurred to me that this will be me very soon. In a year’s time, I will be walking across a stage to receive a piece of paper documenting my success during these four years. I actually got a little choked up when the president was taking about going out and finding your future.

During my reporting this year, I have learned a lot about the Stephens College community. And I have to say, it’s pretty awesome. Their graduation ceremony showed that. The girls had on these crazy high and fabulously decorated shoes. I kind of wanted to do the story about the shoes! They also each decorated their graduation caps with rhinestones and tons of glitter. It was like a giant sorority celebration.

I took a lot away from the ceremony. I was able to get a peek into the world of Stephens, and I wanted to show everyone how cool and unique I thought Stephens was. So I wrote a piece that was at least 20 inches. It was ridiculous.

And it was cut in half. I had to part with my lovely words. But it was a graduation ceremony after all. Everyone says cheesy things that made me get teary eyed and made the ACE roll her eyes. In the end, we came up with a unique story about graduation.

It was also my first time going to an event with a photo journalist. Future tip- get in contact with each other before the event starts so we don’t have to swim through the mob of people leaving after the event.

They were way more fabulous than these, but it’s still a song with shoes.

Leave a Reply

